Game. Set. Engage.

 

Critical reflection:

Once deciding upon the subject of gamification for my video assignment, I began diving into scholarly sources to further my understanding of the topic, and also with hope to pinpoint a more specific direction for the video. Scholarly sources were accessed through Deakin University’s library search function, guided by the weekly study notes within ALC203.

The term gamification is not a concept a layperson would grasp fully despite usually having experienced some form of it. Because of this, I decided to include a clear explanation in the beginning stages of the video, providing context to ensure the video was appealing, enjoyable and informative for all types of potential audience demographic, focussing on broad audience appeal. Initially, this was done by grabbing the attention of the audience, engaging them in the video straight away, ensuring their attention and focus was on what was in front of them. This was achieved by quite literally throwing money at a screen before defining gamification with the supplementation of scholarly sources.

For a content-rich subject about engagement, creating a face-on video without any visual stimulus would be somewhat ironic, because of this I sourced creative commons materials, including audio, video and images. This media not only enhanced my video but also provided me with the opportunity to display my knowledge of licencing as well as the competencies of media attribution.

Working to a time limit of around the 7-minute mark, I needed to ensure the information being provided was concise, clear and relative. Achieving this through the use of both Canva and text overlay whilst engaging with scholarly sources, acting as a B-roll. This use of B-roll ensured I was able to speak clearly, with good diction and tone. Whilst discussing my chosen scholarly sources I aimed to provide a further explanation to show my full understanding of the subject as well as applying the sources to specific examples. Structuring

Creating video content of myself was certainly a new experience. I usually avoid facing cameras directly due to a lazy eye (being born without sight in my right eye). I began to experiment with different camera heights and angles to overcome this as best as possible. The changing angles of the camera was an attempt to keep the focus on what was being said more so than what I looked like whilst saying it, although overall I am happy with the result.

 

Filmed in 4k and uploaded in 1080p, I ensured good quality footage was captured, lit naturally in a quiet environment to avoid distractions throughout. I edited the video using Final Cut Pro, a program I have used before but certainly still learning by doing. The main challenge after the script was written and material sourced was filming the actual content. Quite clearly reading from behind the camera at some stages throughout, I struggled with articulating intelligibly without the convenience of a script. The use of a custom thumbnail furthers potential online engagement, sets the initial tone of the video and highlights who I am, all before the first click.

I believe I could have managed my time more efficiently despite not specifically struggling with the deadline. The process of researching, planning, writing, recording and editing from inception to upload is a certainly lengthy, some parts seemingly arduous, although this has given me good insight and further respect for the world of digital media making. In reflection upon completion, if given the opportunity to further my project I would involve more original and creative content, to add an artistic flair and create an overall more encapsulating video.

Word count: 596

My broader online engagement:

Please refer to the Tiffit tally.

REFERENCES:

Faiella, F and Ricciardi, M 2015, ‘Gamification and learning: a review of issues and research’, Journal of e-Learning and Knowledge Society, vol. 11, no.3, pp. 13-21.

Kim, B (2015), ‘Designing gamification in the right way’, Library Technology Reports, vol. 51, no. 2, pp. 29-35

Kim, B 2015 ,’The popularity of gamification in the mobile and social era’, Library Technology Reports, vol. 51 no. 2, pp. 5-9

Marczewski, Andrzej. 2012. Gamification: A Simple Introduction and a Bit More. Seattle, WA: Amazon Digital Services.

Michelle Henning, ‘New Media’, in Sharon Macdonald (ed.) A companion to Museum Studies, Blackwell, Malden, pp. 302-18.

Creative Commons:

All footage filmed and edited by Keith Edson or licensed under (CC0 1.0) unless stated otherwise. Infographs made through canva.com
Game! (CC BY 3.0)
Alex Chopjian

Controller evolution (CC BY 3.0)
Chris Koelsch

Manual Gamification (CC BY-SA 2.0)
Ben Chun

Wizard Haldey (CC BY 2.0)
Chase Elliot Clarke

Music:

The Sun & Queens hip hop – [CC BY-NC]
Amoeba Crew

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

